“What’s in a Name?” Cube

My newest Cube is all about “named” cards. Think “Chandra’s Outrage” or “Augur of Bolas.” I put in every card with this kind of name, but only put in Legendaries and Planeswalkers that had named cards. So for example, Lovisa Coldeyes isn’t in this Cube because I don’t have any other cards that refer to her.

I also gave all Legendaries/PW’s “convoke.” If you have “Augur of Bolas,” you can tap it to pay one mana of Nicol Bolas’s casting cost. Additionally, if Bolas (for example) is on the field, Augur of Bolas gets +1/+1. Instants and sorceries cost one less if the named card is on the battlefield. (Chandra’s Outrage would cost one less if a Chandra PW is on the field.)

Last week was the first time we played. The randomness was fun, but for this week, I’ve juiced the packs. We’ll do four rounds of drafts. First will be a short, 5-card pack of Legendaries and Planeswalkers. Then two rounds of 15 of cards that only share names with the L/PWs that were in those original packs. Then a final round of 15 cards that include other named cards (for example, Purphoros’s Emissary — I don’t have Purphoros), conspiracies, and lands.

I don’t tend to include lands because they aren’t on theme. (Or if I do a Commander Cube, everyone gets guild gates, regardless of the theme, etc.) But there can be issues with mana ramp as a result. So I just added a bunch of lands. I have a few “named” lands (Desert of the Fervent, for example), so those went in. And then I added any land that named a specific place; no to Rugged Highlands, yes to Crypt of Agadeem.

Definitely excited to play tomorrow!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

